December 24

Training Injury: Part of the Deal

Well…I’m 32 years old and have been out of this fight game for a while…I don’t know what I expected out of this whole training-to-fight-again thing. My brother and I were at the local gym today getting a run in. We decided to wrap the workout up with a few minutes of clinching to get our necks ready for Thailand. It wasn’t even a real clinching session, it was more of a give and take of pulling on each other’s necks to strengthen them, head control, and shifting each other’s weight around…just to get back into the swing of things again. We were going 50%, if that, and my knee popped out while my leg was locked when I tried to pull my bro outside of my center of balance. I instantly crumpled to the ground in agony. The first couple of times this injury happened was during rugby and hockey a few times. I used to scream like a little bitch. Now its easier to take my pain in silence and walk it off. Lesson learned…don’t be lackadaisical, even if you’re only going half speed/strength. An injury can take you out of the game at anytime. I’d love to tell you that I don’t have to worry about it, but its like I always say, if you’ve never gotten hurt playing sports, you haven’t played hard enough. I know enough about this injury and have sustained it enough to avoid it, similar to how I hardly ever roll my ankle anymore. Keep it in mind.Image